All the Pumpkin Things!

Happy Thanksgiving to everyone! I hope you enjoy the day. Think about all the many things we have to be thankful for, living in this wonderful country. A plethora of pumpkin is just one of the things we can be thankful for 🙂

Yesterday I made my low calorie Apple Cranberry Sauce. It was delicious with my cottage cheese! And then I made a batch of Pumpkin Custard. That will keep my Thanksgiving cravings satisfied without overdoing the calorie load.

I am going to my niece’s this year for Thanksgiving, and this year I volunteered to make Helen’s wonderful Brown Butter Pumpkin Cake. This is the third year I’ve made it. I think that makes it a Thanksgiving tradition for me. I made the cakes this morning, and I will make the nuts and the frosting later today.

dscn4750

What is that tiny little cake, you ask? Why yes, I did cook a miniature cake for myself to have the next day 🙂

The cake recipe doesn’t use a whole can of pumpkin, so I dumped the leftover pumpkin into my leftover coffee–it will make me a fun low calorie “pumpkin pie frappucino” later today 🙂

I am off to the doctor for my third and last gel shot. Hoping that the third shot is the “magic” that will make these shots work for a while. When I get home I will cook the turkey breast that I bought so I will have “leftover” turkey in the days to come.

Happy Thanksgiving to one and all!

5 thoughts on “All the Pumpkin Things!

  1. Pictures of the finished cake!! I love the mini cake. Guess that’s a cupcake, right? Have a great Thanksgiving, Debby! Safe travels.

  2. Happy Thanksgiving, Debby! Your cakes already look delicious (and I love that you made the tiny cake for yourself, too). And I agree, all things pumpkin are just one way that makes this holiday great.

  3. Happy Thanksgiving Debby! This was my 7th year making that cake and I don’t think I’ll ever be able to stop. This year I found organic pumpkin in one of those paper boxes and I think this is my favorite pumpkin to use so far. I’ll have to see if I can find it again and take a picture for you.

    How clever to make yourself a small cake. My family sneaks pieces of it and hides it so they can have two pieces lol! I had to insist on bringing a piece home for Little Helen who I won’t see until Saturday.

    • Ooh, I’d like to hear about that pumpkin. Maybe Trader Joe’s or Whole Foods might have it? And thank you once again for a most excellent recipe!

      I didn’t really need to make the small cake. There’s a lot of non-nut eaters in my family (can you believe it?) so I left half the cake for my mom and sister to take home, and came home with half a cake for myself. It is now safely stored in the freezer. I’m gonna have my little cake tonight, though 🙂

Leave a Reply

