The Feast and the Days After

Thanksgiving was quite tasty this year. My niece’s husband did one of those deep fried turkeys, and I swear, that was the best turkey I’ve ever had! I had seconds on turkey and mashed potatoes, and all the other stuff I just had mini-servings of, or skipped altogether.

It was a shame, but most of the folks present didn’t like nuts, so I left half of the pumpkin cake for my sister and mom to take home, and I took the other half home myself. I guess I didn’t need that little cake after all 🙂

Anyway, I did have one piece of the layer cake that night, and then I cut it into serving sizes, and put it safely in the freezer. And that was it. The next morning I got up and went right back to counting my calories on LoseIt. I didn’t really want to keep overeating. I guess I’m finally getting over that whole thing.

I ate carefully that day, and saved enough calories so I could have my mini-cake for dessert that night. I had my “leftover” turkey breast that I had cooked for myself, and so I had my salad with romaine lettuce, cranberry sauce, turkey, and laughing cow lite cheese–I love that combo! And I cut up that turkey breast and put it in a couple of containers in the freezer so I can have it whenever I want between now and Christmas.

dscn4754

Today I had an old favorite of mine. The original of this was at a wonderful restaurant that served gigantic mashed potatoes in all kinds of original combinations. One of my favorites was the italian potato, which of course was loaded with butter, sour cream, mozzarella cheese, italian spices, olives, and a bit of parmesan.

One day I realized I could have this same combination of flavors if I would just pare it down a little. I start with a small yukon gold potato, about 4 ounces, and I spray it with Pam and sprinkle garlic salt on it, then wrap it in foil and bake it for a long time. That makes it soft and extra flavorful. Then I spray some fake butter on top, put about 1/3 cup of cottage cheese, sprinkle some italian spices, and about a Tablespoon or so of chopped olives. So yummy! And probably one-tenth of the calories of that giant baked potato 🙂

dscn4763

Here’s how I had it for dinner–with a big helping of those baby green beans, baked in the oven with Pam and salt.

dscn4765

3 thoughts on “The Feast and the Days After

  1. Between you and Helen with that cake…. I be needing it soon.

    I logged my food on Thanksgiving, not for the calorie count, but just for the habit. This year I actually was not full when I went to bed, which was my goal. I overate, sure, but not stuffed.

    I have never had deep fried turkey, but we’ve been brining turkeys for a few years now and what a difference that makes! It’s so good.

  2. My boss will only eat turkey if it’s deep fried. In fact I remember one year where he refused to go to his father’s house because they were roasting the turkey. Oh, the drama!

    I only had 1 tiny slice of my own cake and saved 1 large piece for Little Helen. She doesn’t even like sweets in general but she loves this cake.

    I did fine with the main meal on Thanksgiving but I think what made me feel like I’d overdone it was the mini turkey sandwich on a homemade roll I made later on that evening. I didn’t need it, but I “needed” it – I always have one!

Leave a Reply

