A Tale of Two Muffins

A bit ago I was looking for an old recipe in an old seldom-used recipe box. I ran across a very old stained piece of paper, and discovered it was a copy of muffin recipes from the book The 8-Week Cholesterol Cure. Twenty-eight years ago I worked with a young woman whose very thin mother had very high cholesterol, and they were trying to lower their cholesterol with some of the recommendations in this book. She said the muffins were tasty and low calorie, so I made a copy and tried them out. They were good! So twenty-eight years later I made them again, and they are still very tasty. Only about 120 calories per muffin. This book is still in print, but the muffin recipe is all over the internet, so I thought it would be okay to share it with you. I made Banana Nut Bran Muffins, but the book has many versions of different flavors.

dscn4881

Then, a few weeks ago, I picked up the box of Kodiak Power Cakes mix again and looked at it. Hmmm. 1/2 cup of mix with 1/2 cup of water, and you’ve got pancake mix. The list of ingredients is relatively short, its high in fiber and protein. I succumbed.

dscn4891

Holy Moly, these are VERY good pancakes. 190 calories for three pancakes with 15 grams of protein and 5 grams of fiber. So far I’ve had them with a tsp of butter and SF syrup, and with walnuts cooked in and topped with my banana mash syrup.

dscn4892

On the box they also have directions for using milk and/or eggs to make higher protein pancakes. And, they had a muffin recipe. One day I decided I could adjust that recipe a little bit, and tried it. These are also very good banana nut muffins! Very different than the previous muffins, which are very much a bran muffin with bananas. These taste more like commercial muffins, light and fluffy, and pretty sweet. These muffins come out to about 150 calories each. My Kodiak Banana Nut Muffin recipe is here.

dscn4905

9 thoughts on “A Tale of Two Muffins

  1. “…twenty-eight years later I made them again” – I love how you don’t rush into things. 😉

    I remember bran muffins and the cholesterol thing BACK IN THE DAY (probably about 28 years ago, haha) and they were good. I like your newer, easier version, although I’d have to leave out the Splenda. But I still am going to get a box of Kodiak mix for our pancakes because YUM. Pancakes!!!

    • I know. I don’t think eating a lot of bran is thought of as a cholesterol cure any more. But I read some of the comments on Amazon, and people seem to really think it helped them. I just like them because they’re tasty and low calorie 🙂

  2. Well bran is definitely a blast from my past. I remember when everything got bran added for fiber – I got sick of it 😀

    That Kodiak cake mix has suddenly appeared at my grocery. I know Lori eats it too and says the cakes are really good. What is this banana mash syrup you speak of? My most favorite way to eat pancakes is with sliced bananas, walnuts, and syrup!

    • Haha–maybe that’s why I didn’t make them for 28 years :))

      Oh, you know. I just buy over-ripe bananas when they put them on sale, and mash the daylights out of them and put them in an ice cube tray. So when I have pancakes, I just thaw out one banana cube and mix in some SF syrup. Yum yum yum.

  3. I need to check out this Kodiak stuff. We eat pancakes like crazy around our house – my husband considers himself a pancake connoisseur- and i would love a protein packed version. 🙂 But muffins…mmmm…muffins.

  4. I’ve never seen this Kodiak stuff. Suppose it hasn’t made it to the hills of Tennessee yet? Debby, you crack me up. Between you and Cammy making suggestions, I think I’ve tried freezing about everything you can think of in ice cube trays.

Leave a Reply

