Signs of Spring

Well, one week ago we had a snow storm. Today it feels like spring, and everywhere there are signs of spring emerging. The violets are the first to show up in the spring. I planted some of them between the stones on the path by the hydrangeas and camellia. Violets can be somewhat invasive. I think I started with just one little violet plant many years ago. They are everywhere. Sometimes I dig them up and move them, and sometimes, I have to admit, I treat them like weeds and just dig them up and toss them in the bucket.

DSCN4941

A primrose is starting to bloom.

DSCN4933

The Camperdown Elm has big fat buds waiting to pop. There are some funny little lime green “flowers” on this tree before the big green leaves emerge.

DSCN4934

The bed of pansies and daffodils that I planted last fall.

DSCN4943

DSCN4944

I was surprised that the camellia was already blooming.

DSCN4939

And look who’s waiting for the blooms. Every year…

DSCN4940

Daffodils in the front bed. Most of them are turned facing the road, which is nice for the few neighbors that drive by.

DSCN4937

The forsythia is just starting to bloom. A different strain of violets are blooming in the rear.

DSCN4936

And right next to the forsythia, I was so happy to see the new honeysuckle putting out lots of new shoots.

DSCN4935

A new daffodil and an old hyacinth.

DSCN4945

On my way home a week ago, it was a sunny day, so I stopped at one of my favorite nurseries to get a little color for the yard. Brought them home, and they got snowed on the next day. But they seem to have weathered the storm well. You can see in the background that MLG and I are trying out some of that shredded cedar.

DSCN4942

 

And that’s how its going in the garden so far. I’m so glad that MLG and I worked last fall, pruning and cleaning up the yard. I think it will look very nice in another month or so. Today I did what could only be called “micro gardening.” Laying on the ground and carefully picking out weeds from between the elfin thyme ground cover that I have so carefully cultivated. Somewhat frustrating, but also something that I have to admit I enjoy. I like tiny things, and I like detail work.

In other garden news, MLG has figured out how to put in an irrigation drip system. I am VERY excited about this. I like watering. But I don’t like watering for hours and hours. And I don’t like it when I forget one plant and it suffers in the heat. AND……drumroll please…. J. the contractor came over last week and poured the cement for the start of my new chicken house. I can hardly wait.

10 thoughts on “Signs of Spring

  1. I love how Sophie is checking out “her” crop – she’s thinking “yes, yes, dis bloom will be mine, and dis one too” – so nice of you to plant flowers for the Queen. 😉

    Your invasive violets has me thinking I should plant some in my backyard and see what happens. Really, we need to get a truckload of fill dirt in there to replace what’s been washed away by all of the rain, but we both know that’s not going to happen anytime soon.

    We’ve always had a drip system and I love it – I only have to think about watering the pots on my patio, and if I complained enough about that, Jeff would set up a drip system there. You’re going to love it!

    • I think the violets might do very well in your yard. They don’t mind if they miss some watering, they don’t seem to mind the heat, and they do like a little shade, which I remember you have a lot of trees in your yard.

  2. If only a certain landscaper could go to California and install a sprinkler system for you…and bring his wife for a visit as well!!! 🙂 I love your garden posts – looking forward to more. And I love seeing what your Team comes up with for your yard and house – you should have your own show on HGTV!

  3. I am so, so jealous of how far your plants are along! My tulips have just broken through the ground. Just in time for below freezing temps and now a foot a snow tomorrow. Boo.

    I want a drip irrigation or soaker hose system put in. I don’t mind watering, but it would be nice if we go away and I don’t have to worry about it.

    • Well, we could have some cold weather and even snow still, which, with the plants this far along, could be more disastrous than the snow on your little buds.

      Sometimes I don’t mind watering, but sometimes it takes a LONG time. Mostly it will be very nice for when I travel, and also for when I have my knee surgery!

  4. Loving all the signs of spring in your neck of the woods – it’s still cold in Chicago – my car said 18 degrees when I was headed to the train this morning – I am ready for spring! 😀

Leave a Reply

