The Garden and the Chicken Coop

DSCN5061

Let’s start with some pansies! I got so tired of Noah (and now Chloe) eating all the pansies that I decided to haul this big pot outside the fenced yard. Better to feed the deer than be irritated at my dogs. I found a little piece of portable fencing to try to protect it from the deer. Within a few days, there were a million blooms!

DSCN5060

I am so happy that the lilac is blooming so well this year. Last summer MLG, with my direction, did quite a bit of pruning. They say that lilacs don’t particularly like pruning. I guess we did a good job!

DSCN5057

Most of the blooms are too high for me to touch, but this is the best its bloomed in years. I am happy.

DSCN5056

And now inside the yard and to the right. Those tall plants are the money plants. They are way taller than I thought they would be. Their blooms aren’t anything spectacular, but its nice to see blooms early in the season. I like the shape of the plants and the leaves are very pretty.

DSCN5041

Here’s a close-up of the fringed tulips in that bed.

DSCN5042

The flowering cherry is blooming.

DSCN5040

And the Japanese maples look so pretty when the leaves first come out.

DSCN5043

I can hardly wait for these foxgloves to bloom!

DSCN5045

Another view of more Japanese maples. You can see my car there, and a truck behind it.

DSCN5046

The truck belongs to J. the Contractor. Yes! The time finally arrived for the construction of the chicken coop. He and his helper were here for an entire week working on the house and yards! Here is the coop with the first yard that was built between the wood shed and the coop.

DSCN5051

Nest boxes can be accessed from the outside, and are built at just the right height for me–no need to bend over πŸ™‚

DSCN5054

DSCN5055

Nest boxes from inside the coop. The rail in front can be removed for easy cleaning.

DSCN5050

And a little ramp for the chickens to get outside each morning. There is a sliding door (that I can close from outside) to keep them safe each night.

DSCN5049

I started worrying that the yard we planned would not be big enough for the chickens, so I asked J. to build a second yard behind the coop. Both yards are connected by a simple gate. You can see my house behind the coop, so you know where its located. I like that I will be able to look out my kitchen window and my studio windows and see the chickens.

DSCN5053

And I thought I’d end with a lovely neighborly story. My neighbor is a wonderful gardener. Over the years she has shared many vegetables with me. This year she planted a lot of tulips. And twice, before a big storm hit, she has gathered some tulips and brought me a beautiful bouquet.

DSCN5058

I wanted to show you the white interior of these dark tulips–so dramatic! Tulips last a long time in the house–who knew?!

DSCN5059

 

15 thoughts on “The Garden and the Chicken Coop

  1. Wow, those tulips are just gorgeous! What a sweet neighbor. πŸ™‚

    That chicken coop and the yard(s) are so nice – your chickens will be lucky ducks…er, chicks, living in hog heaven. HAH. Very cool that the egg gathering thingie is at your height, and I love how easily you can get them without having to go inside the coop – just lift the lid, scoop, and boom. Eggs for breakfast.

    Your yard is always so much fun to see – thanks for the pretty pictures!

    • haha, you made me laugh with hog heaven. I’ve been saying that if I got tired of chickens, its a good goat place. I hadn’t thought about adding hogs to my menagerie :)) My neighbors would be so pleased :/

  2. Oh gosh yes you should get a pygmy goat!!!!! Good call Shelley! πŸ™‚
    I LOOOVE japanese maples, but honestly, tulips make me swoon. They’re just so elegant. And those dark tulips are absolutely gorgeous.

    • My favorite goat is Nubian goats. Probably because they look and act like doggies πŸ™‚ I am definitely getting more tulips for next year!

  3. I love all the photos of flowers, chicken coops, and everything you post. I may be a bit of a Chicken Little but I worry that a raccoon may be able to lift the lid on the egg box. Would a hawk be able to swoop down and grab a chicken who was out sunning herself? Maybe that’s a Henny Penny worry.

    • LOL, if you could only feel how heavy that piece of wood is on top of the nest boxes! I can barely lift it. And I was going to put a top on the chicken yards, but decided against it. I never had a hawk take a chicken when I had them before–the tree cover is pretty heavy. The one time a hawk was circling, the chickens knew to run under something, so they will always have access to their house. And if need be, we will put fencing on top.

  4. Everything is so gorgeous! I have absolutely no desire for chickens but I love your little coop so much it makes me want to visit you πŸ˜‰

    True lilac pruning story: 25 years ago I lived in a small rental that had a row of lilac trees separating our yard from the neighbors. She came over several times and asked if the landlord would please cut them shorter. I have no idea why she needed to see into my back yard, but anyway I told her I’d tell the landlord. His response was that they were not out of control, they were on his property and he didn’t want to prune them so much as to kill them.
    One Sunday we got home from church and went to let our little dog out back and whoa! The view was completely different because the neighbor had her gardener cut the lilacs all the way down to about 3 feet high!! I couldn’t believe it. And sadly, they never bloomed again in the 7 years I stayed there.

    • Yes, you need to visit. You and Shelley should come out. You could briefly visit the chickens, and then we could go to Lake Tahoe for a girls weekend! Doesn’t that sound fun?

      The lilac story is a nightmare. I had a friend who had a neighbor who did the same thing to one of her beautiful antique rose bushes.

  5. I am envious of your chicken coup and I stand in awe over your garden! I swear my green thumb backfired because if I even look at a plant, it dies. Haven’t tried my hands at chickens yet though. =D

Leave a Reply

