Chicks at Seven Weeks

DSCN5616

Well, its been a little over a week, and that is a long time in the life of a chicken! Here’s the latest report from the ladies.

Remember this one? Last week I captioned her picture “a very self-assured chicken.” Well, the day after I wrote that, I was out watching their antics, and “she” crowed. Yes, the first rooster has made an appearance. Dang. I only had one of these Spitzhaubens.

DSCN5628

This here has become a piece of prime property in the chicken coop for the past few days.

DSCN5599

This. This little scooped out place in the dirt is prime property.

DSCN5601

And this is why. Chickens love to take dust baths. I guess the dirt was just right there next to the automatic waterer I added this week. The waterer has a top to it that will hopefully keep out dirt, and for sure will keep out chicken you-know-what. I just wanted to make sure they knew it was their water before I put the big scary top on it.

DSCN5649

Whaddaya say? Whaddaya say? I bet the plain girls are so jealous of our fancy hairdos.

DSCN5613

You know how when you chop down a little oak tree more branches grow back? Yes. This is all that’s left of a pretty hefty clump of branches. The funniest thing they do is to jump up and grab a branch and then stand on it so they can peck at the leaves.

DSCN5614

They really like their new water dish. (I do too, as it  saves me a lot of time.) I believe that this is another rooster in the works. No crowing yet, but he’s got a bigger comb and fancier feathers than the other two Speckled Sussex.

DSCN5640

A good close-up:

DSCN5690

Hey what’s going on out there? Is it safe? Anybody? Anybody? Tell me its safe.

DSCN5619

DSCN5622

Hey, you were just inside the house. How did you get out here? (I was inside the henhouse and ran outside to get pictures of this one coming outside. I love the look on her face.)

DSCN5624

And the Baby report. Baby is the queen of the hen house. Because she stays inside and does not go outside yet. Today I held her up to the doorway, and she did seem very interested in what was happening out there. But I will let her decide when to go out. She is starting to get more real feathers now.

DSCN5658

DSCN5659

DSCN5663

Here she is in one of her little hidey holes.

DSCN5668

This is their new feeder. They seem to have adjusted to it fairly quickly.

DSCN5661

And there you have it. The chickens at 7 weeks of age. They still have to eat baby food for another three weeks. And only greens for a while longer. I can hardly wait to be able to give them watermelon and cantaloupe rinds–they LOVE them!

 

6 thoughts on “Chicks at Seven Weeks

  1. OMG, you are so funny with the chicks and their stories! Love the hairdo, love the surprised chick, and BABY! She’s still so little.

    I’m with Helen, will you rehome the rooster?

    • Rooster thoughts: The chicken coop is located between me and the one neighbor that I like. So I planned to have NO roosters so I wouldn’t bother her. HOWEVER, she is moving. So I just might keep one or two roosters. If they can live peacefully together and not bother the hens too much! But I think there’s a good chance that I have four roosters out there. So a couple of them will have to go…

Leave a Reply

