Chicken and Garden Report

Baby goes outside! One day I looked out my window (whenever I am near the studio or kitchen window I always look out to see what’s going on in the chicken yard.) I was SO SURPRISED and excited to see Baby out in the yard. She seemed to be enjoying herself, running here and there with her little hitch, checking out the greens I had thrown out there, and mixing in with the big girls. So far she has not gotten picked on–you know, the pecking order. I have a feeling she will know to just stay out of the way. She also has a couple of “friends” who seem to stick close by. And of course, she didn’t know to go back into the house at night. It was so cute–one of the buff orpingtons had settled down next to her in the yard. Anyway, got them back inside and all was well. I think it was maybe a little overwhelming, because she hasn’t gone back outside since then…

DSCN5695

DSCN5701

Another day I looked outside and there was something very large and brown standing on top of the bird netting that MLG had put across the top of the chicken yard. I ran outside–it was a HUGE hawk, who was not at all afraid of me, and was bouncing up and down on the netting to try to get in! I was SOOOO glad that I had had MLG put that netting in place. He did a very secure job. If I had done it myself, it might have been much easier for Mr. Hawk to get inside! He hasn’t been back since then, so fingers crossed that he thinks its a lost cause.

Here is the view of the garden that I enjoy when I sit on my fake patio.

DSCN5713

The volunteer petunias have returned, although a much smaller batch of them. along with some weeds…

DSCN5714

Phlox.

DSCN5720

Most of the oriental lilies came back. I had kind of forgotten about them, so that was a nice surprise.

DSCN5718

Mr. Bougainvillea is doing very well, and I love having it.

DSCN5722

Close-up. Aren’t those little white centers a beautiful detail?

DSCN5725

The Jackson Perkins rose that I complained about last year. It is doing very well, and I do love the color and the smell of it.

DSCN5715

The hydrangeas are doing well, but I’m a little stumped as to why the flower clusters are so small.

DSCN5719

This is that rose that is grown on its own root stock. Its kind of wild and crazy. I think it might need a little fence support behind it next year. Lots of little blooms.

DSCN5710

And that’s the garden and report and chicken update for this week.

 

8 thoughts on “Chicken and Garden Report

  1. Your bougainvillea is putting mine to shame. Nothing is making it bloom, not sun, not water, not fertilizer…I should show it a picture of yours and really shame it, LOL.

    So happy for the chicken report – Baby looks so tiny out there in the yard with the other chickens! I’m glad she ventured outside, and equally glad that someone took her under their wing (Har de har har) – interesting that she hasn’t gone back outside since, though. And that hawk, eeeek!!!!! So so glad the netting was there! NOT THE CHICKS!!!!!

  2. Hooray for Baby being brave! I’m so glad you have a cover for the chickens. I think birds of prey couldn’t care less about people in general. They never seem afraid.

    Do your phlox get powdery mildew? The only time I tried growing it, the mildew was terrible and I just ripped it out never to try again.

    • No. My flowering almond and some of the columbines get mildew but never the phlox. Another of those weird opposite coast differences.

Leave a Reply

