AIM: The Last Straw

542707_10151477330723281_358074385_n-1-1

This month we are tackling one of the questions we were asked in our questionnaire:

1. What was your “last straw” moment, or your kick in the butt, or whatever it was that finally made you say “I just have to do this (get healthy)”?

Well, I have to be honest here. Even though I promoted this as one of the questions we tackle, I knew that I did not have a good singular answer.

I knew that I had a LOT of moments that SHOULD have been “the last straw.”

  • Like when I would take my nieces on a special trip to Lake Tahoe, and I would sit on a bench in the shade just watching them.
  • Or when I admitted to a special group of friends that sometimes I just felt like running out the front door, but I wasn’t physically able to do that.
  • Like when I would limp into the house from the car after my 12 hour shift, thinking, I guess I’m just going to die early (because I can’t give up chocolate chip cookies.)
  • Knowing that my blood pressure and blood sugar were starting to increase just a bit (and my dad had long-term hypertension and diabetes.)
  • Or when something popped in my knee while taking a shower, and my leg hurt so bad that it literally took me half an hour to tie my shoe laces (so I could go to the ER.)

That last one. Man, I really thought that was going to do it for me. But no. I couldn’t seem to change the way I ate and thought and moved.

So my last straw seems to be an accumulation of years of quiet acceptance and desperation combined.

And then a friend had the temerity to ask if I would go with her to Weight Watchers. And after turning her down, and struggling on my own to try to cut back on calories (and being very very hungry…) I had to admit to myself that I needed help.

I was a reluctant convert. And VERY skeptical that anything would “take.”

The only thing I had going for me was a very firm conviction that anything I did would have to be “for the rest of my life.” (which was also why I was so very reluctant to make a change in the first place.)

Ha! And I was right. I still have a very occasional chocolate chip cookie, but they are no longer a part of my daily diet. And now, as I write this, I am waiting for a butternut squash to cook so I can try it in a new salad recipe I found, and will have that salad along with some strawberries and cottage cheese for my “special” Sunday night supper. For dessert, I might make my Apple Blackberry Sour Cream Pie in a Bowl. You can see that I was right about making a change for the rest of my life. When I was so stuck on my old way of eating, I never would have dreamed of trying a salad that had butternut squash in it.  But you know what? Its a great change! I do believe that I will be eating this way for the rest of my life.

I so wish for all of you who are looking for that “last straw” or that “AHA moment” that you will find what you are looking for. Maybe it won’t be a big recognizable moment. Maybe it will just be that little admission “I need help,” or the quiet desperation that finally reaches the tipping point. Whatever it is, I know that I and my AIM friends wish the very best for you. If you have more questions, please feel free to leave them in the comments.

And be sure to check out the other AIMers. I can’t wait to read about their last straw!

Lynn @ Lynn’s Weigh

Lori @ Finding Radiance

Shelley @ My Journey to Fit

Cammy @ The Tippy Toe Diet

17 thoughts on “AIM: The Last Straw

  1. The months/years of contemplation and acceptance seems to be a theme for a lot of us! While my “aha” moment was a photo, I’d done a whole lot of denying followed by begrudging thoughts of “I SHOULD lose weight” until I finally got to “I WANT to lose weight.”

  2. I have been following you and your AIM friends so I must want to do what you all do (become healthy). I am 67 yr. old and just don’t know if I can do it again. I have lost the same 50 # (now nearing 200#). I have done it in both healthy & unhealthy ways always returning to my preferred comfort of food and regaining the 50#++++. I am allowing myself to dwell on my age, thinking that it just can’t be done again at my age. My last few attempts have been futile.

    I found you through the quilting world and enjoy your quilts very much.

    • Oh, it can be done. It just takes a little longer at our *ahem* advanced age… And also, I think that sometimes we have to learn to be content at a little higher weight. I don’t know what your height is, but maybe it might be easier for you to maintain a 30 pound weight loss? If you are eating a healthy diet and exercising regularly, that would still be a very positive change.

      So glad you enjoy my quilts!

  3. “So my last straw seems to be an accumulation of years of quiet acceptance and desperation combined.”

    Yep. Same here. I’ve had more Aha! moments than I can count, and none of them spurred me into action. I think I’m finally (finally!!) getting it all together and making some progress now, I just wish it hadn’t taken me so long to do it.

    I love reading these AIM posts. Keep it up!! 🙂

  4. The acceptance and desperation thing – yeah, that is what if felt like for years. Almost like a feeling of inevitability to staying overweight. But, like the Matrix, you can break out of it.

  5. Quiet desperation lead me to know I had to change…or else __________. Funny, how many times I also had moments that shouldve clicked for me, but I didn’t change then.

    I appreciate your take on the subject. Thank you for sharing.

  6. I am enjoying these posts immensely. I think it’s rather easy to say “this is hard” and give up but you haven’t done that – even when you regained a bit of weight. I just want you to know I so admire your dedication to continually making the changes that are keeping YOU healthy.

  7. Still catching up on blogs. I’ve read three of these posts now and it seems no one has really an AHA moment. I don’t think there are many people that do have it. I think it’s a lot of things that lead up to the moment where you say: this time I’m doing this and reach my goal.

    Great post Debby.

  8. My fave thing you said is reminding us it MAY NOT BE A BIG RECOGNIZABLE MOMENT.
    I think too often we imagine our AH HA!! as having strobe lights and confetti.

  9. Thanks for your blog. 🙂 I’m going to go back and read some (although if you follow my art blog, you’ll know I won’t have much time for reading over the next month!)

    I think probably you come up as a no-reply blogger because a: you’ve got your profile set up as google-plus profile (they’re always no-reply bloggers), or you just never set up your profile on blogger with links to your email and this blog).

    I’ll be checking you out next month!

Leave a Reply

