FOWL MOOD

(image borrowed from rug hooker Gene Shepherd.)

This morning this was the mood I was in.  Dang.  I just wanted a little quiet time, a little time to read and pray.  But all the neighborhood dogs were barking.   That meant you-know-who was NOT in a calm submissive state of mind.   And sooner rather than later that meant that you-know-who WAS NOT in a calm assertive state of mind.  And that just makes me madder, that I can’t stay calm assertive.  I couldn’t even close my eyes to pray.  So I just prayed out loud with my eyes open.  That actually worked pretty good.  Because of what I had just read, I was praying for the people that irritated me.  Pretty soon I realized I was praying for practically everyone I know.  Oops, that’s not good.  Perhaps the barking dogs were not my main problem.

So I made a list of things I wanted to accomplish for the day, and then  set out on chore #1–take Noah for a long walk.  We drove to the end of the road and set out to walk down this one particular street that is really pretty, and peaceful and quiet.  First we met this llama with a very bad haircut who was intent on guarding his flock of sheep from us (pretty funny that he is guarding them from a guardian dog.)

Then we met this nice group of little sheep.

I was still in a pretty fowl mood.  These sheep were doing what I really wanted to do:

Chowing down!

This is really a nice place to take a walk.  There were even some pretty wildflowers.

Blue and yellow, a favorite color combo. Thank you, God!

Ooh.  We even saw this bobcat in the field with the sheep.  He was pretty far from them though.  Probably no match for that ferocious llama.

Noah was in a pretty calm submissive state of mind at the end of the walk.

I, however, had not quite achieved that optimal state of calm assertive dog owner.

Still just a little bit tense.

Maybe I need to stop watching the Dog Whisperer for a while.

Will someone please save me from the crazy lady?

I really like it when Noah lays down in the back seat.  A nice ending to our little trip.

Actually, the day ended up pretty good.  I chipped away at my list of things to do, which included starting a new quilting project.  Have I told you I am obsessed with this gal’s work?

Leaving lots of blank space for embellishing with hand stitching.

I also spent some ‘quality time’ with the housemonsters on the couch, eating my one prescribed   ’emotional eating’ cookie and watching more episodes of the Dog Whisperer.

12 thoughts on “FOWL MOOD

  1. It sounds to me that you got in a pretty good day. Love the visual effects for your post–the Fowl Mood and the blue & yellow plus N on the back seat were my faves. Do you remember that old hymn–Take it to the Lord in Prayer? I think your prayers probably worked for you.

  2. I don’t know, sometimes watching the Dog Whisperer inspires me and other times I just feel like a failure for not having a calm damn dog. Sigh.

    P.S. That llama looks like he’s wearing pants!

  3. I’m so glad that I came across your blog. It’s good to see another person who finds it important to stay fit and healthy. I have lost over 125 lbs. myself and will be featured in the November 2010 issue of Shape magazine. This is VERY exciting for me! Anyway, my blog is located at http://www.LauraGetsFit.com if you’d like to check it out. I added your blog to follow, so feel free to follow mine as well. I look forward to reading more of your journey. Take care! ❤ Laura

  4. I’m having one of those days today. Everything is pissing me off, but it’s just because I’m tired. I was out late with some friends – I have to remind myself that I’m not as young as I think I am anymore!! 🙂

    Glad your day turned out alright. Calm assertiveness – that’s what I need with my kids!! 🙂

    • Darn it! I stayed up too late last night too, and then wonder why I feel old and tired this morning. Noah is wondering if I am going to be crabby two days in a row.

  5. I stayed up too late as well! When will I learn?

    LOVE this post. Your picture (mad face) was so funny! You look a little like Lily Tomlin in that shot (although I don’t think you look like her normally- must just be that expression).

    A bobcat! Wow! I’ve never seen one outside of a zoo. How exotic you are in Cali…

    Sending you calm assertive thoughts today.

    • Ahhh. Your calm assertive thoughts must have reached me. Started out pretty rough this morning, but now back from an excellent walk with Noah. Cool air, no deer flies. Feeling very calm. Plus it always helps to get a fun comment when I get home!

      Bobcats–when I had chickens, I had a very big one only about 10 feet from me just turn and stare calmly at me. I acted real brave, but I stayed on my side of the fence.

  6. Glad you’re feeling better! (And glad my weekend write-up cheered you up the other day!) Tending the kids (furry or otherwise) is sure a good distraction from the food. I admire your control, one cookie? Whew!

    We’ve seen bobcats in the horse pasture behind the house, and deer. But the bobcat only showed up when the horses weren’t there, thank goodness! At least no mountain lions, *shudder*.

    Ooo, the new quilt project looks promising! The circles look 3-d. Can hardly wait to see how it turns out!

  7. Pingback: A Challenge, A Recipe, and A Bit of News « debby weighs in

Leave a comment