Thankful

That is how I feel this morning.  It started with Lori’s blog about her one year anniversary of losing 100 pounds!  And as I commented to congratulate her, of course I was thinking of my own journey (most of you know I have lost 100 pounds, gained back 8-13 depending on the day…so tired of saying that…)  And I realized that there is so much to be happy about.  In the dailyness of life, it is easy to get bogged down in the drudgery of ‘working at it’ and not see the bigger picture.  Here is my comment to Lori:

 Lori, isn’t it just wonderful? Its really a miracle. To have a different body. A different life. To still enjoy food. TO RIDE YOUR BIKE 26 MILES ROUND TRIP AND ENJOY A FROZEN YOGURT! It just lifts my spirits to think about it this way!

Then I spent WAY TOO MUCH TIME reading around in blogland.  Somewhere along the way, someone linked to a nice self-affirming, motivating video that I enjoyed.  At the end there was some music that sang about how nice it was to be near the ocean, then went into a chorus of ‘Allelujahs,’ and it made me think of Who I am thankful to.  And I watched this video which I just love.  That is Who I am thankful to.  For this life.  For the time to be able to sit for hours and read blogs, after two long hard days at work.  For the ability to still do a good job at that work.  For the friends that I have made on my computer, that I hope to meet someday in real life.  For a body that still works.  For Food, Glorious Food.  The food that can fuel my body AND taste good.

DSCN0704

This is my finished rug from last year’s camp.  I think I’ve posted it before, but thought I would share it again.  The sentiment from it comes from Jesus’ words in Matthew 6, of course.  And it reminds me always of what I am thankful for.

P.S.  Does anybody know what I did to change the spacing on my blog?  It is a mystery to me.

5 thoughts on “Thankful

  1. Debby,

    I have been reading your website for a while now, and your wonderful personality and faith in Christ shine through, which I find so refreshing (as I am a strong Christian as well). I enjoy your insights about your weight loss and your faith. Please keep the great posts coming.

  2. Oh Debby – I was just thinking the other day – have you done a post about losing 100 pounds? I don’t remember one, but I could just be blanking out right now. As far as what you tell people – tell them you lost 100 pounds and just leave it at that!! No one needs to know you gained any back (and besides when you’ve lost 100 pounds, 8 pounds is just a drop in the bucket!!).

    I totally get how thankful you are today – I was clicking through your blogroll and clicked on Annie’s blog and yesterday she had a post that linked to a free e-book. So I went and downloaded the ebook, and WOW. It was so good and left me feeling so uplifted and even walking lighter today. It’s funny how God chooses to talk to us sometimes, isn’t it?! He is so good.

    Okay, now I’m going to go watch that video you linked to! 🙂

  3. Anonymous–thanks for the really nice comment/compliment. Do you have a blog yet? Let us know!

    Jill–I’m so glad you found Annie’s blog–I think she is a great blogger, and so funny. Thanks for the tip on the e-book–I don’t check her blog every day. Ha–that’s my goal, to bring all my readers to tears.

  4. try clicking on ‘Edit HTML’ instead of ‘compose’ near the upper right corner of the screen where you compose your posting – it will show you the behind the scenes instructions/programing. Something in that should show you the command to errase (to get rid of the spacing).

    LOVE the picture of the rug – I do remember it from before – and loved seeing it again.

Leave a comment