One Day Off

Waaaa.  Everyone else is tired of me complaining about work so you guys are all I’ve got left–hehheh.  And if I’m not careful I’ll lose you too!  Anyway, I only had today off and have to go back to work tomorrow.  I’ve got a busier than usual work week ahead and I’m tired just thinking about it.  In addition, I have all this guilt about leaving Noah for so long.  So why am I spending time writing a blog instead of spending time with Noah?  Oh, well, you know….

Don’t have that much to report.  I am enjoying eating the food Vicky provides, and I’ve been doing really well staying on the straight and narrow.  Until yesterday.  Yes, there was chocolate at work.  Yes, I ate some.  Worse yet, I came home and found some more chocolate and ate too much of that.  DARN IT!  But today I wrote out my food plan and stuck to it.  1325 calories.  That makes me very happy.  (I had to write out my food plan because Vicky got sick and I don’t have her pre-planned meals.)  I did snag some of her entrees that were still in the case at the gym.  Yummy stuff.

I took a picture of my dinner the other day.  This is pretty typical of what I like to have for dinner these days–a big plate of veggies, and a smaller serving of something or other that has protein in it.  This stuff was really good.  Vicky called it red lentil and rice salad.  I LOVE it.  But I think I love it because it has peanuts, sunflower seeds and raisins in it.  Just very flavorful and satisfying, and filling.  That little dish has about 200 calories in it.

I like finding these types of foods because they can be a starting point for all kinds of other combos.  The rice and lentils with seeds and nuts, add some veggies of choice, and a different sauce combo, and its a whole new meal.

I also like having these smaller dinners because they leave me a little wiggle room for an evening snack or ‘dessert.’  Tonight I had a bowl of yogurt with cinnamon and walnuts–yumm.  Did you guys notice I have a serious walnut affair going on?  If I overeat anything regularly these days it is probably walnuts.  I read somewhere that there was some study that might have some evidence that you don’t gain as much weight as you should from eating walnuts.  That was all I needed to hear.  They are my most favorite of all nuts all time.  I think its genetic from my English grandma.

This morning I had a most excellent breakfast–protein pancakes with sliced strawberries and some canned whipped cream on top.  I decided afterwards that I would have been much happier having some nice yogurt instead of the whipped cream on top.  Next time.  But I love those pancakes.  And you can’t fault the combination:  egg whites, cottage cheese, and oats.

I’d love to blather on for a while, but if I go to bed right now, I might actually get almost enough sleep, and I might actually not feel so terrible when I come home tomorrow night.  Have a good Monday, and I’ll check in with everyone on Tuesday!

11 thoughts on “One Day Off

  1. you know me 🙂
    I TOTALLY THINK that our blogs are the perfectplatform (aliteration I heart ye) to ventwhineandcomplain.

    we are always happy to listen 🙂

    have a good monday.

    Carla

  2. Have fun at work! hehe. I’m still whining about my job – it’s hard to be excited when there’s no joy to be found. 😦

    Your dinner looks lovely – I love those plates!

  3. Am dying for that asparagus!!! Love your portions – I used to eat heavier on the veggies than I do now…your post is a great reminder to get back to that.

    And hey, if you can’t complain to us, then what’s the point of having a blog?!? 🙂

    • Yeah, the big servings of vegetables seem to satisfy my ‘volume’ need. And the asparagus was really good. I spray the pan with oil (get the pan pretty hot before, and saute it for quite a while to get some color on it (maybe 10 min?) and then I add a little water to the pan, cover it and ‘steam’ it for another 7 minutes, because I am not a fan of crunchy vegetables. Just right for me.

  4. And thank you all for the ‘its okay to whine confirmation! Its a lovely day here at work, and as always I like what I do. I just don’t like how I feel at the end of the day.

  5. Hi Debby! Contrary to appearances lately, you didn’t lose me! I can relate to your work feelings, though, having been on vacation the prior week and in catch-up mode this week. Hope all’s well with you!

Leave a comment