Decision!

I did it!  Made a decision.  You all KNOW how hard that is for me, right?  So after hours of looking online at cameras, and asking advice from you, and asking advice from people at work, I headed to the big city to check out the cameras at Best Buy.  I had a pretty good idea of what I wanted, and what features were important to me.  A kid who looked young enough to be my…very  young son (sorry, can’t make myself put grandson in there) approached me and asked if he could help.  ‘Well, do you know anything about cameras?’ I asked skeptically.  ‘Yes, I do,’ he said.  And sure enough, he really did.  Went over the various features I was interested in, and offered his opinion on which camera he thought was the best.  And showed me the type of memory card that would do what I needed it to.  And pretty quick, I made a decision–I wanted the pretty aqua (color is VERY important to me) Canon Powershot camera.

THEY DIDN’T HAVE IT IN STOCK.  Up until then I had been having a really good time.  This was the main point of my trip, and now I couldn’t get it.  So I went to the quilt store and bought some fabric.  [What is it called when something is funny only to the person saying it.  That is what that statement is–it is hilarious to me.]  Actually, I had planned to stop at the quilt store.  I scored a BUNCH of really beautiful fabric at 50% off, and finally got a new ruler of my most favorite brand, and some things called ‘paper pieces’ which the advertisement says something like ‘strangely addicting’ which is exactly what they are to me.  When I get my new camera I will show you what I am doing with them!

Back to the camera story.  So I came home, checked online, and they had the camera I wanted–for $80 less than Best Buy!!!  But then they also had the newer model of the same camera in pink.  OH NO.  Another decision.  I did go back and forth, and even decided to sleep on it.  But I read a few reviews, and the older model actually has better reviews.

And with the money I saved, I got a pink gorillapod on Lori’s recommendation, and a pink  leather camera case. So there.  I got both colors I wanted.

Other places of interest on my trip:  stopped at the upscale thrift store and SCORED big time!  I had so much fun trying on ‘designer clothes.’  It was one of those days where things really fit well–maybe that has to do with my weight being down a few pounds from the last time I went clothes shopping.  Anyway, some of the designer clothes I got:  Jones New York (I don’t know if this is actually a big designer brand, but their clothes consistently fit me really well,) Ann Taylor, Charter Club.  I headed out from the thrift store to stop at Barnes and Noble, because by this time i REALLY have to go to the bathroom.  And I like magazines.  Found a few really fun things there too.  Then on to Best Buy, where I did manage to get a DVD of ‘Best of Monk’ YAY.  And lucky for me, Best Buy is right next door to Yogelina, my favorite yogurt store.  Yum.  Yumm.  Yummmmmm!

Foodwise, it was an amazing day.  I stuck EXACTLY to my planned food for the day, including eating the tuna on greens salad that I had brought with me, even though I was parked right next to a Chipotle Grill, and I gave myself permission to eat there.  I thought about what I really wanted, and what I wanted was to NOT feel overstuffed, and to have the yogurt.  Plus, I had enjoyed trying on those clothes so much–that is a really good motivator for me.  And the salad was amazing–I practically licked the container out (more Vicky food.)

Those custard oats can really hold you for a long time.  I thoroughly recommend them if you tend to get hungry mid-morning, because I tried it again this morning, and it held me for 5 hours.  That is a long time for me, especially in the morning.  I have a long list of things to do today, and not enough time, so I’d better get moving.  Have a great weekend everyone!

9 thoughts on “Decision!

  1. Congrats on a decision, and good for you for having such a fun day!

    And auuughhh!!! I could not find that word, that means something funny only to the person saying it.

  2. You got the gorillapod! That thing is fun. Love mine. I am a dork that I think it makes my camera seem like a pet when I have it on there (okay, I can’t believe I just wrote that out).

    Custard oats don’t fill me up for 5 hours, but the do last a long time. Yum!

  3. HOW MUCH DO I L OVE THE SENTENCE FOODWISE IT WAS AN AMAZING DAY!

    Im jealous of the new camera as well.

    for now Im relegated to using my phone 🙂

  4. the best guy camera people are very well trained – we found them very helpful and not at all pushy (they are NOT on commission). So glad you liked them too.

    okay -when you talk about bathroom and then in the next sentence say how much you like magazines – it makes me think of George from Seinfeld taking the book in the bathroom at the bookstore – they made him buy it – and then he couldn’t return it any where in town – as if the computers knew it had been in the bathroom.

  5. So glad you had a fun day out! I LOVE new gadgets – I’m jealous of all your new stuff!!

    Yay for upscale thrift!! Isn’t the best feeling ever to score such great clothes at a teeny price?! love it. Have you ever read the Thrifty Chicks blog? It’s all about the great finds she finds (that was so redundant!) at thrift stores. I really like her site. http://www.thriftychicks.com I think.

    Can’t wait to see new pics! 🙂 Have a great weekend!

  6. I’m in love with your camera color! Suddenly my basic silver looks boring and unhip.

    Fortunately my backup camera (the coolpix) is hot pink, so I have that going for me. Which is nice.

    Yay for your awesome day and awesome purchases. Have a great weekend!

  7. Woohoo for getting exactly what you want!!! I never get “colors” (cameras, appliances) because they usually cost extra, but I absolutely LOVE them and wish I did. ‘

    Sounds like the shopping trip was most excellent. I like to go out and try on clothes every few weeks – even if I don’t buy anything, I seem to stay motivated to keep on track, diet-wise, because I like fitting into smaller clothes! Glad you found some great things!

Leave a comment