An Extraordinary Salad

Can’t take credit for this one, people, but wanted to share this wonderful salad ‘recipe’ with you.  Its  one of Vicky’s creations, and one of my favorites.  I think the orange adds an extra zing to the flavor combo.

Mixed greens, oranges, green onions, carrots, blue cheese, and toasted almonds (all organic,) and free range chicken breast, all topped with her homemade poppy seed dressing, which is also mostly organic ingredients.  Vicky is a fanatic for the best and most healthy foods.

Here’s a picture of what I picked up at the gym this afternoon.  This is probably one of my all-time most favorite foods.  The combination is just stupendous.  Wish I had a recipe for you.

Vicky’s Red Lentil and Rice Salad with Curried Yogurt Dressing.  Ingredients include brown rice, red lentils, apples, raisins, sunflower seeds, peanuts, unsweetened coconut, nonfat yogurt, grapeseed mayonnaise, natural cane sugar, curry, sesame tahini, ginger, and lemon.  Again almost all organic ingredients.  Nectar of the gods, I’m telling you.

Its funny, because looking at that picture, this is a food I would have REFUSED to even taste in my former life.  And in fact, when I stopped to talk to Vicky tonight there was a man explaining to Vicky that he could not eat the food she was providing on one of her food programs.  It was just too different than what he was used to.  And Vicky nicely tried to explain that it does take time for your taste buds to change, but it was possible.   Hey, look what I did for you.  Googled the ingredients and came up with a recipe that sounds VERY familiar! I’ll probably just keep buying it from Vicky.  That’s a lot of ingredients to deal with.

So.  The fact that I like this dish SO MUCH leads me to my next topic.  I was working on my ‘Do You Use Food to Cope?’ workbook tonight, and was tabulating some information,* and came to the conclusion that I eat a LOT of sweet food.  Are any of you as surprised as I was by that discovery?  I guess I shouldn ‘t be surprised, but I actually was.  And, I discovered that I am not eating enough vegetables.  That is just silly.  Because vegetables are the way to go.   And I like vegetables.  Now, it could be that this is an unusual week, but I don’t think so.  I think I just tend to ‘drift’ towards sweets, and the veggies go bye-bye.  And just so you know, when I say sweets, I am talking about TVP Carrot  Cake, Lo-bars, fruit, custard oatmeal with raisins, that red lentil and rice salad, yogurt with muesli, walnuts, and a few chocolate chips, that kind of thing.  But still.  Too much of a good thing can lead to an unbalanced diet.

* The workbook had me keep a complete food journal for a week, just writing down the food, time, location, and activity.   This was a little different than I have done in the past, which was basically just a list of the foods and the points/calorie count.  It was pretty interesting to review.  As far as location,  I am not going to address that too much, except that little bad habit of taking a snack to bed with me.  Gonna nip that one in the bud!  But I live alone, and I don’t actually have a dining room table any more (that’s my sewing studio,) and I don’t think its terrible that I eat while I am reading or watching something on the computer.  Sometimes I do just eat and stare at my food.  And sometimes I do enjoy it more that way.

Okay, to end this post, here are a couple of amusing shots from tonight’s walk.  It is actually cool outside tonight, and so I had the brilliant idea to take all three dogs for a walk, since Noah doesn’t seem to have as much energy in the evening.  I actually used to do this all the time when I had the three dachshunds and Oliver.  But this is a new combo.  And this was our first attempt.  It went pretty well until I stopped for a photo op.

The end.

7 thoughts on “An Extraordinary Salad

  1. You wrote:
    And the underarm cut…I was trying on dresses yesterday and there was one I loved for the fall, but the underarm cut was completely wrong. I thought about trying to fix it–wish I had thought of an alterations lady because the dress was seriously cute and only $14. Oh well…

    the only way one could ‘fix’ the underarm opening would be to take in the shoulder seam so the whole dress came ‘up’ to tighten undersarm hole up closer to cover. and you have to have a lot of extra room in the bodice (or high boobs) to have that work. I don’t know about you, but even in my really good bras, no one would consider my boobs to be ‘high’. so for me – the bodice and the underarm and shoulders have to be stellar to even consider the dress as fixable. So, I buy for my biggest areas (on me this is bust and shoulders) and then make sure my problem areas (excess skin on side under arm pit) are covered, and then the dress can be altered to accomodate fit. It cracks me up on so many levels that what used to be my biggest part/measurement (belly) by far, is now what is the smallest and we are altering DOWN.

    I buy things and leave the tags ON and go try them on for alteration lady. Sometimes they are fixable and sometimes NOT. If not fixable, or cost will be too high, I simply return them to store. Alteration lady can ‘show me’ with pins how they will fit/look when finished.

  2. LOL at the last photo. Noah looks like he is saying “I can’t believe you are making me walk with these 2!!”

    I have come to the conclusion that it isn’t so bad if you eat while watching TV or reading as long as you aren’t ignoring your food. I think you understand the difference between mindless shoveling and just have some form of entertainment on.

    I do like sweets as well. I noticed on those days where I actually tried to go no added sugar, it made me realize how much it snuck in to my meals/snacks in various ways.

    I do way better with veggies now than in years past, where I would eat broccoli occasionally, but that is still a work in progress. You seem to eat a lot of vegetables and clean foods to me.

    Must try that lentil rice salad!

  3. Those two food pix are making me drool. (or, as the Italians say “mi fa venire aqua in bocca.”–more musical, less weird sounding). I too like a touch of sweet in my food–pineapple chunks in my stir fry, sultanas and almonds in couscous. Is this a problem?? I hope not. I do eat lots of veggies. Really. Three dogs on leashes? I remember getting all tangled up when I took our two goldens on walks together. They had very different styles and ideas of what they wanted to sniff. But I guess if you just took one dog per hand, the other pooch would, rightfully, get his feelings hurt.

  4. Debby – I am always so impressed by your ability to look at yourself and your habits objectively, and your courage to face what you find head-on. Not to mention the guts to share it with the world. 🙂

    Georgie

Leave a comment