Persistence

“Nothing in this world can take the place of persistence. Talent will not; nothing is more common than unsuccessful people with talent. Genius will not; unrewarded genius is almost a proverb. Education will not; the world is full of educated derelicts. Persistence and determination alone are omnipotent. The slogan “press on” has solved and always will solve the problems of the human race.” –Calvin Coolidge

“If you don’t require much of yourself in this area of self-monitoring, your ability to maintain your goal weight will be weakened considerably.”  Dr. Phil

Its nothin’ new, but hey, if Dr. Phil and a president said it, it must be true:  persistence pays off.  We all know it.  We say it to each other.  But its good to hear it again.  And from sources like that, who can argue.

I have to give credit to Loretta again.  She consistently shares great quotes.  And these two in particular have encouraged me the past couple of days.  You know, days of ‘feeling fat.’  Days of feeling sore and stiff.  Days where you just don’t want to do what you said you were going to do (count calories.)  Days of wanting to eat when you’re not hungry, and fighting it but being tired of fighting all the time.  Days where you know you’re never gonna lose another pound, and its getting kind of embarrassing to blog about it.

And then a blogger shares a great quote.  Or another one says in the comments ‘you have us.’  And another one encourages ‘you have all the tools you need to do this.‘  And another one shares a new veggie they tried, or a recipe that gets you excited again.  Or even a kids book that they think you might like.

So thanks guys, for being there.  Persistence.  It wasn’t really so much the personal training/exercising portion of losing Vicky that was worrying me.  It was the accountability/encouragement part of Vicky that I have been a little concerned about losing.

And just when I needed it, there was Loretta sharing an encouraging word (or two or three!)  Press on, mes amis.  The alternative is just not acceptable.

And now for the doggie update.  Here is Noah’s stick-of-the-day.

Mr. Monk looked particularly pensive tonight.  Perhaps pondering the future of the British Empire, PJ?

And I’m not sure why Sophie was laying this way.  Looks uncomfortable.  Probably trying to make me feel guilty for not having her on my lap.

Hey guys.  These darn pictures take a long time to load, so I am always doing other things in between.  And just now, when i was taking my shower, I had a revelation.  It was really bugging me that I wanted to eat in between meals today, because I have been eating ‘clean,’ and my meals were carefully planned to fuel me.  I thought maybe it was because I had to do a bunch of boring paperwork/computer stuff that I had been putting off (feels great to have this stuff done, BTW.)  But then all of a sudden it hit me.  There have been several truly tragic events in the past couple of days–a former patient (can’t talk about specifics) and the grandchild of one of my best friends was diagnosed with a terrible disease.  In addition, my dad’s health is not improving.  I am not in control of any of these things.  And you know how I feel about that.  But I can’t tell you how good it makes me feel to have identified why I was wanting to ‘stress-eat.’  I actually did pretty good keeping it under control.

Pressing on…

16 thoughts on “Persistence

  1. I’m so sorry to hear about the tragic events. Hugs!

    Persistance. (sigh) Funny how I can be so persistent in the things that aren’t so good for me. Well, that’s not really funny.

    Thanks for the link. 🙂

  2. Pressing on, indeed. I am sorry to hear about the events behind your stress eating. But as you discovered, sometimes, sometimes, if we take ourselves out of the moment and give ourselves time to think, we can figure out what’s behind it. And armed with that knowledge, it feels (sometimes) a bit easier to combat.

    Persistence is totally the key to all of this. It’s not how many times we fall, it’s how many times we persist in getting back up.

    Oh, and I love “stick”. My grandbeast adores playing “stick”.

    Have a wonderful day.

    • Roxie–you gave me a laugh this morning. I read ‘grandbeast’ as grandfather at first (old eyes), and I thought ‘that doesn’t seem right!

  3. Sorry to hear about the sad events, but so glad you identified a trigger. Good for you!

    Monk does look very pensive today.

  4. I think sometimes when we are involved with people who are having serious health issues, we try to be there for them and in doing so, forget to take the time to mourn/be angry at the disease/worry – at least in the forefront, although like you discovered, it’s still happening underneath everything. Hope what you now realize will help make your days smoother. Sorry about all of the sad news.

    Jackie used to do that, too – get in such an uncomfortable position to make us feel bad about not lifting her up onto the chair or bed. (It always worked, too).

    • That’s so funny how all dachshunds have a lot of the same traits. Manipulative little beasts, aren’t they? (But I love their beastiness so much!)

  5. What you did… tune in and realize the reason you were wanting to use food for comfort… is sooo important. I’m glad you connected with the feelings, identified them. I’m sorry they were sad events.

    That is something that I constantly have to consciously work on, it is my biggest challenge, I think, to stay connected to how I am really feeling. Even right now, today, it feels like the real feelings are hiding behind a screen, just out of reach. Then again… sometimes I just don’t WANT to feel them! This journey sure can be work… but it is worth it.

    Loretta
    =^..^=
    PS: the look on Sophie’s face is adorable… so expressive

    • that’s exactly how I feel most days–‘it feels like the real feelings are hiding behind a screen, just out of reach.’

      Sophie is adorable isn’t she? Spoiled, but she loves me as much as I love her.

  6. “The alternative is just not acceptable.”

    This is so true, isn’t it. There is no option but to press forward.

    I’m am sorry about the things going on that make you want to stress eat. At least you identified a trigger.

  7. Oh Mr Monk..it’s gonna be ok buddy. I think Sopphie is thinking..”too much testosterone and my feets are cold”.

    If we could just figure out how to deal with our feelings, and really feel them and then go on..no food involved.n I just found out that a friend had died 9 years ago..It shakes you up.

  8. I can so relate to what you wrote and I think it is POWERFUL that you recognize when you are ‘wobbling’.

    And, for myself, when I have feelings like that – I turn to broth.

    I make my own (so NO added sodium at all).

    I used to chop and chop and chop which added to the feeling buried. Now, I get most of the veggies in the freezer section – chopped onions, carrots, green peppers.

    Often there is a frozen mix that only has onions, celery and carrots – perfect.

    I then wash roma tomatoes and throw them in whole. After they have boiled for an hour – they mash easily and I just leave the skins in (but could strain them out if they bug you).

    Make my own stock by putting all the following in a covered stock pot and cooking on low for an hour:
    3 cups water
    1 c finely chopped onion
    1 c diced carrots (I do not peel)
    1 c diced celery
    1 c diced yellow or green bell pepper
    3 large garlic cloves, minced or pressed
    1 t dried dill
    1/2 t ground fennel
    ground black pepper

    If I make a large stock pot full – which I usually DO – I just UP all of the ingredients.

    I strain and then put the broth in pitchers in the refrigerator. I then just pour a cup and microwave when I need comfort or am trying to avoid night time eating. I take a pile of pills around 9pm each night. I often take them with a large cup of this heated broth – I think it helps dissolve the pills and adds in their absorption.

    I have never done it – but I suppose one could put all the veggies (after cooking) in a food processor and puree and then add to the broth. Sometimes I pitch them and sometimes I add them to cooked (from dried) beans to make bean soup for my husband.

    • Vickie, that is so kind of you to write all this out for me. And it really appeals to me–I laughed when this second comment came in because that was what I was thinking, I would like a tomato soup recipe. And I like the idea of having something available, instead of ‘fighting’ myself all the time. I know what I will be cooking on Sunday (working 4 days right now!)

  9. “Press on, mes amis. The alternative is just not acceptable.”

    Amen to that! (And glad my “alternative” made you laugh. 🙂

    Love the broth! Homemade is best, but I’m not quite as motivated as Vickie and use the “Better than Bouillon” stuff, although there are lots of good, quality broth options out there.

  10. I just wanted to say how much I enjoy your posts. We have a lot in common and I always appreciate you insights. Hang in there, you’re doing fine.

Leave a comment