A Couple O’ Smart Moves

Yes, once in a while I do something very smart.  Inadvertently even.

So this morning I started out the day with a bowl of custard oats topped with that delish apple blackberry pie stuff.  Just as yummy as I envisioned.  Probably a little low on protein.  It has a little yogurt, a little flaxseed meal, a little quinoa, and the egg whites.  But maybe a little low on protein, I thought, when I got hungry about three hours later.  I was just getting ready to leave for the gym, and I thought, what would be really good for me, and also hold me for a while.  I’ve had this idea for a while, but haven’t really acted on it, because its not too exciting.  But I took a piece of pre-cooked chicken breast out of the freezer, and ate that (yes, after I thawed it.)  And do you know, that even though I had a good workout at the gym, and a sort of so-so lunch (apple snack and lo-bars) I was really very satisfied all day long.  And really only needed a light dinner.  Since Vickie posted about her homemade broth, I’ve been thinking about that.  I actually had some leftover roasted tomato soup from my freezer.  But I have all the ingredients to make the broth.  I will probably make it more like the tomato soup by blending all the veggies together.  I am looking forward to having it on hand.  I bought some parsnips and a red bell pepper to add to it.

Okay, my other smart move of the day.  I did my workout, and then was going to skip my plans to swim because, well, it was raining a little bit and I was running late to go over to my friend’s house. But I was kinda riled up (if you want to see me go nuts, offer irrational excuses for your poor customer service.  I’m talking about you, Enterprise car rental place in a small town.)  Anyway, I decided to take the extra time to change into my swim suit and to just swim 5 or 6 laps, and then spend 5 minutes or so in the spa.  Oh, it was heaven.  Swimming relaxes me so.  I review some of my memory verses while I am swimming, and that always makes me feel better, and the spa just feels so wonderful on my back, and even my arms and my legs.

So that’s it for today.  Noah’s Stick of the Day was an amazingly large wishbone shaped branch that he dragged all the way home.  It took quite a bit of re-arranging on both our parts (I tell myself I am working on my agility and balance if not exactly cardio at this point.)  But darn it, I didn’t have my camera with me, and he was too tired to pose with it when we got home.

I bought 4 sweet potatoes because I want to try a few sweet potato recipes.  They are supposed to be so good for you, but I seldom remember to eat them.  Tomorrow I’m going to try Caitlin’s sweet potato breakfast recipe.  It sounds fantastic to me.

Does anybody have a great sweet potato recipe they’d like to share?

8 thoughts on “A Couple O’ Smart Moves

  1. The breakfast sweet potato recipe sounds wonderful. I fix a sweet potato/black bean chili that’s really good. Also, sweet potato enchiladas are yummy.

    Mostly, I just roast them with whatever herbs I have on hand. They are like candy to me. To me, sweet potatoes used to be that Thanksgiving casserole thingy, but now, they are so much more. Enjoy.

  2. I can well imagine trying not to break your neck while walking beside a huge wishbone stick.

    are you piling all these sticks to use in a firepit? because you must have quite a collection by now!

  3. Oh, poor customer service is the worst. It’s so frustrating. Good for you for working it off with extra laps in the pool. I love sweet potatoes. I made them for dinner last night. Wash & poke them with a knife in several places. Wrap them in foil and bake them in a 450 degree oven on a shallow metal pan (also covered with foil, so you avoid washing up woes). Bake them for an hour or more until they feel soft when you poke the foil with your finger. I like mine seasoned with a sprinkle of cinnamon and a scant tsp of benecol. My sister likes hers with just a sprinkle of salt. This is one good-for-me food on which I need to control my portions. They are yummy.

    • Debby, benecol is a spread (faux butter type) that is made from canola oil. It’s actually supposed to be good for your cholesterol. Here’s the link for the Wikipedia article:http://en.wikipedia.org/wiki/Benecol

      The lentil and brown rice recipe you mentioned in your comment to me sounds awesome. I may play around with the ingredients and see what I come up with. I’m all about whole grains right now.

  4. “Stick of the day” – that cracked me up! Good for you for taking the time to do a little stress-relief in the spa. I’m so jealous!! 🙂

Leave a comment