Ticking off the Days

Every morning this week I wake up having no idea of what day it is or what is planned for the day.  Then I remember the day, and I know what is scheduled.  I guess its good I wrote out that blog about my schedule for the week.  Completely unrelated to anything else in this post, but I wanted to mention it:  do you know what I TOTALLY LOVE at Christmas time?  Buying some mulling spices and keeping them simmering on the stove all day.  I found some at Pete’s Coffee this year and absolutely love the way it fills the whole house with the aroma of Christmas.

So everything has gone according to plan, and I am ready for action today!

Tuesday, started the day with an excellent protein pancake.  Lori has the best recipe for this, so I always refer you to her blog.  I have it the same way almost every time.  With some walnuts cooked into the pancake, and topped with mashed overripe bananas.

Doesn't that look tasty? It was!

Tuesday afternoon I was still feeling a little blue, so I decided to take a walk with Noah, because as Lori says, “You never regret a workout.”  I took the mailbox keys, just in case we made it that far.  And what do you suppose was waiting for me in the mailbox?  A box full of healthy treats for me and the doggies from one of my favorite bloggers, Pubsgal!  I tell you what, that someone would take the time to send such a thoughtful gift really lightened my mood.  Plus THOSE ALMONDS were just the thing I needed to refuel for the long walk home!

In the evening, I had my single-serve concert in my living room.  I even took pictures of the sleeping doggies and the lights in the dark to prove it to you all.

LIght eggnog in mug, and a few treats!

About halfway through The Messiah, at 9pm(!!!) a delivery truck pulls up in front of my house. Honest, guys.  I live one and a half miles back on a twisty dirt road with no street lights.  How the heck he found his way here is a mystery to me.  Bigger mystery–did he ever find his way out LOL!  Anyway, as promised, I was sitting in my pj’s listening to the music, which necessitated me leaping up to get my bathrobe on.  in the meantime, the guy WALKED UP ON MY PORCH.  Do you know what Noah thinks about strange men walking up on my porch in the middle of the night?  Well, now I do!  Anyway, the peace of the evening was a little disturbed.  But finally everyone settled down and we finished the concert.  It was a lovely way to spend an evening.

Not quite as relaxed, but close.

Oh, and earlier that day, I watched one of my all time favorite movies.  I found the OLD version of The King and I (with Yul Brynner and Deborah Kerr) at the library.  That is one of the greatest movies ever!  Of course, I LOVE the ballroom scene, but there are so many great moments in it.

Yesterday was the day to visit Mom.  It was a pretty relaxed drive (great traffic both ways) and an enjoyable day.  Too much food, and I could really relate to Cammy’s post about being done with the treats before the actual day arrives.  So today and tomorrow are for good clean food.  Of course we went to the thrift store–my last chance to find some REALLY COMFORTABLE shoes before giving up and going retail LOL.  I even tried on some cowboy boots since I am going to Texas!  The fruitcake was great, and can I just say that IT IS IMPOSSIBLE to make healthy choices at The Outback.  They might have a few healthy choices on the menu.  Its just impossible to stick to them.

So today I am off and running (soon) to get stuff organized/arranged/packed for leaving.  I am hopeful that I can get everything done by early afternoon so I can make a quick run to the gym for a ‘last chance workout.’  But actually, you know what’s good about visiting my brother?  He still loves to work out, so I get a ‘personal trainer workout’ when I visit him.  Along with nice long walks with his “little dawgie”–Shelley, he has a mini dachshund too!!

This will probably be my last post before Christmas, so I will wish you all the most wonderful Christmas ever, and an even better New Year, as we all move forward in our quest for the most healthy life possible!

8 thoughts on “Ticking off the Days

  1. Love the shots of the sacked out pups! Too bad the delivery man had to disrupt the peace – that was late! We’ve had the UPS guy come as late at 8:30pm, but dang. I guess they really want to get everything delivered, no matter what the time.

    I expect pictures of your brother’s pup! How fun that you will still get your doxie fix even in Texas.

    Merry Christmas if I don’t “talk” to you again – can’t wait to see you next week!

  2. Your evening concert sounds absolutely divine, even with the interruption. I feel bad for the poor UPS guys this time of year – they are required to empty their trucks before going back to the warehouse. I’m sure there are many barking dogs waiting for them!

    You have to know I am Green. With. Envy. that you get to see Shelley… and that she gets to see you. Don’t have too much fun without me.

    Merry Christmas Debby!

    • What a lovely way to spend and evening before Christmas…. I hope the package was worth the noisy interruption not to mention the driver’s trip.

      Have a wonderful time in Texas…. did you get those boots?

      Merry Christmas and a Happy New Year

      Blessings from Anne and John

  3. Merry Christmas Debby! I once played in the pit orchestra for a summer production of the King and I. We played that for weeks! I could not get those songs out of my head for months 😀

    That concert looks lovely!

  4. So glad you liked your package! 🙂 And I like your concert–so peaceful! We like doing the same sort of thing on Christmas Eve. Night time always feels more like Christmas to me.

    Hope you have a wonderful trip and great meet-ups! Merry Christmas!

Leave a comment