Good Afternoon!

Don’t feel like doing much else right at the moment, so thought I’d write a blog.  Wow.  If I was a good writer, I would delete that sentence.  Cause basically it says DON’T READ THIS BLOG.  Oh well.  Continuing on.

I have almost completely converted to a free weights girl in the gym.  Oh I am proud of myself.  Yes, pride does goeth before a fall.  The other day I dropped a 25 pound weight and it landed on my shin.  Fortunately I guess we don’t have many nerve endings there?  Because it doesn’t hurt much, except when I touch it.  Anyway, back to the free weights.  I am almost completely over my fear of “men in the weights room.”  Yesterday I walked into the gym, and my favorite receptionist whispered “we’ve been taken over by high school children…”  Oh brother.  Sure enough, they were EVERYWHERE when I went upstairs to the weights room.  I peered into the free weights room and there were 3 or 4 little boys strutting around doing their thing.  There were weights on the bench press bar.  So I left and did a couple other things.  I went back and the same weights were on the bar, and the boys were nowhere near it, so I just went in there and said, “any of you using this (pointing at the bar,) or did someone just leave the weights on there?”  They said no, and then one of the little boys volunteered to take the weights off. Which I gladly accepted his help.  Then I put my little weights on there and went to work.  After that I used the leg press machine that they had left their weights on, and the barbell for dead lifts that they had left their weights on.  I didn’t have to change those weights.  Yeah!  I liked that workout.  70 pounds on the bench press, 85 pounds on the dead lift, and 200 pounds on the leg press.

Hey, here’s another item of interest.  (Switching to my favorite topic, food.)  Vicky was doing a special ‘detox’ diet plan this week, and I told her about the veggie cereal idea, because 1)  I think it tastes good, in spite of you nay-sayers, and 2) I thought it fit in with the kinds of food she likes to challenge people with.  She is pretty picky though, about what she will serve.  Anyway, she liked the idea, and she included it in her plan this week.  And she thought it tasted good too!  Come on, you guys, be a little adventurous!  It lasted really well in the fridge too.  The apples turn a little brown, but still tasty after about 4 days.

Along the lines of adding veggies to food, I just took a “zucchini cake” version of the one-minute muffin out of the oven.  Smells heavenly.  followed Lori’s basic applesauce version recipe, added a sprinkle of nutmeg, the shredded zucchini, and then must admit to adding about 2/3 Tbsp of agave nectar cause I wanted it a little sweeter.  I will have that for my afternoon snack, after I come back from getting my haircut.

My haircut for my trip next week!  Eeeeekkkk!  Does anybody know how I can lose 10 pounds in a week? LOL.  You know how that goes.  The minute I think about cutting back, I rebel.  NO I AM NOT GOING TO GO WITHOUT GRAINS.  Etc.  Sigh.  It is what it is.  I’ve been this same weight since before I went to Africa.  Someday the mojo will come back.  In the meantime, that is a very nice word using the letter ‘j’ for Words with Friends.

Friends.  My next topic.  I emailed another friend from my past, and we are going to meet up at the quilt show.  That means friends from a 30 year span of my life, from three different interests in my life, are going to be a part of this trip.  First up, meeting my newest friends, from my bloggy life,  Sharon and Cammy!  Of course, this will be our first time meeting in person.  Blog friends, because of what we share, seem just as close as friends IRL.  Next, I am going to meet an old friend (I’m guessing we first met in ’91) from the spinning and knitting era of my life.  Lynn is an accomplished knitter and designer, and my knitting has even been included in her books.  I am really looking forward to seeing her again and discussing all things fiber and color!  And the last friend I am going to meet is now something of a rock star in the quilt world.  But I know him from my years in raising and showing Cocker Spaniels, where I was a rock star in the dog show world LOL.  (so I showed cocker spaniels before the internets were born.  You’ll just have to take my word for it.)   Back then, neither of us were quilters.  I always did handwork of some sort.  But he really took a detour from his career in music to go full time in the quilting world.  This is really going to be a great trip!  And that doesn’t even count the wonderful quilt show I will be visiting, and all that goes with that.

Okay, back from the hairdresser.  I asked her to put layers in it, because I read somewhere that that made you look younger (lost cause.)  Anyway, I am quite layered.  We’ll see how I like it after it dries.  Should be easy to take care of anyway.

Back to my favorite topic.  My friend Wendy (of The Bridge project) has a lot of food allergies.  Coconut is not one of them.  She made an unbelievable orange cake with chocolate frosting with only coconut flour.  Well, and a lot of other stuff.  Anyway, it was quite delicious.  Here is a link to the original recipe, and here is a link to Wendy’s version.  I was surprised when I did the breakdown that it was only 140 calories per piece if you divide it into 12 pieces.  Of course, that is before icing…

Well, this is a long enough blog for now.  I have other things to do which I didn’t want to do when I started this…

13 thoughts on “Good Afternoon!

  1. Yay for converting to free weights – yay, yay, yay!! That makes me so happy 😀

    Hmmmm… 10 pounds in a weeks. Maybe a lower leg removal? Of course, you know if you cut out grains it will only be water weight you lose, which just comes back when you eat them again. Just be you for the trip. That is the absolute best thing you can do because the “you” that you are is just fine.

  2. Thank you so much Lori! You made me laugh with the lower leg removal. I guess it would be hard to take a hike with Sharon with just one leg?

  3. Bet those high school boys were looking at you saying, “whoa, what a babe!” And both Cammy and I are flattered that you refer to us as your newest friends because, of course, that equates to youngest!!

    Less than a week……………..

  4. The most wonderful thing about these blogger meet-ups is that the people you’re meeting are there to see YOU and couldn’t care less about size or shape or anything external. Except…

    …you’re not bringing any of that veggie cereal with you, are you?

    🙂 🙂 🙂

  5. …I’m calling my hairdresser and booking an appointment for layers in the morning! 😉 Bet your hair looks cute – pics?

    Even with your and Vicky’s endorsement, I still say no way, no how on that veggie cereal. LOL on you bringing it as a bloggy gift, though!!!

    Nice work getting more comfortable in the gym – nice byproduct of working there? You taking more ownership of the place? LOVE IT!

    • LOL. I’m not happy with my hair tonight. I’ll probably like it better the next time I wash it. I’ll post pics before I leave. I think you’re right about me working there. Plus just working out very regularly, and the more I do the free weights, the more I want to. Makes me desperate enough to just march right in there.

  6. If you figure out how to lose 10 lbs. in a week please share it with me as I’m about 2 weeks out from my vacation and that would be perfect lol!

    Yuck on the veggie cereal and I’m a veggie lover. Yuck, yuck.

    Interesting to me how some people are intimidated by men in the weight room. I guess ignorance is bliss because when I did belong to a gym, I never was. I always figured I had every bit as much right to the free weights as anyone else. Even now if one of them tried to mess with me I’d tell them to kiss my butt in milisecond!

    OK, the cake does sound really good, but 12 pieces out of an 8×8 pan? No way. 9 pieces maybe but not 12 😀

    • I’m normally like you about cake in an 8X8 pan. In fact 4 pieces seems just right to me LOL. But this cake was really rich, and that was a nice sized piece that I had.

  7. Hair pic please!!!

    Your trip sound SO FUN!! You are going to have such a great time.

    Being the cereal junkie that I am, I actually think the veggie cereal sounds pretty good, especially if you had it with almond milk. I wonder how it would be with a small grain like couscous or quinoa?

    Wendy’s cake sounds really good, but then again, any cake sounds good to me! 🙂

    • Yay, a veggie cereal convert! Yes, I mixed it with some steel cut oats and quinoa mixture I think and it was very good. I liked it best either just by itself (cold) or with just a couple Tbsp mixed in and cooked with the oatmeal.

Leave a comment