Food, Glorious Food

I think I’m obsessed with food.  “Duh,” my sister would say.  I think about it all the time.  I like to think about what foods go best together, how to get just the right combination, whether it be for a little snack, or a full three-course meal.  Kinda like those two guys on the movie ‘City Slickers.’  I don’t want to run out of food.  I want to always have my favorite foods available.  Now I go to 4 different grocery stores because there is something specific at each that is the very best of that particular food only available at that particular grocery store.  I like to bake and I like to cook.  I have bits of paper cluttering my kitchen–recipes that I’ve cut out of magazines or copied off the internet.

Well, I could go on and on, but you get the picture.  So, even though I have completely changed the way I eat, and many of my decisions about what I’m going to eat really are based on what would be the healthiest for me, I think I have too much food in my house.  And that is really the main reason I am writing this.  I want to know what other people do and/or think.  I think having so much food around, and so many choices (even if they are all good) tends to influence me to overeat.  So if anyone has an opinion about this I would really appreciate hearing from you.

On a completely unrelated topic, my sister and I took a trip to Lake Tahoe together.  She got me to do some things I wouldn’t have done otherwise.  She got me to put on a swimsuit and go in the pool.  First time I’ve had a swimsuit on in over 2 years!  And she got me to take my shoes off and put my feed in Lake Tahoe. We had so much fun looking for the cabin we used to go to every summer when we were kids.

 We found it, and it was SO much tinier than we remembered.  But it was so cute and had been really loved and cared for  over the years.  And then, she MADE me eat Coldstone ice cream–har har!  But it was definitely worthy.  (Crabby McSlacker had a contest on her blog and I wrote a poem ‘Its Gotta Be Worthy.’)  Maybe I’ll share it with you tomorrow.

(That’s Sophie, one of the bad little girls, who insists on being in almost every picture I take, even though she refuses to pose and look cute…)

P.S.  Found a new ice cream that is definitely worthy.  Only 100 calories for 1/2 cup.  Called Loving Spoonful Ice Cream–Out of this World Chocolate.  It is dark and rich, doesn’t claim to be sugar free or fat free. I don’t know how they do it, but it is the best chocolate ice cream I’ve had since starting this diet lifestyle.

6 thoughts on “Food, Glorious Food

  1. LOVED the picture of the cottage!!! It made me think of

    A walk in Wolf Wood : a tale of fantasy and magic
    Stewart, Mary, 1916-

    Two children picnicking with their parents in Wolf Wood are sent back into the world of the fourteenth century to rescue a kindly werewolf from a terrible fate.

  2. And on the food topic – I keep TONS in the house – but it isn’t so much about the food as it is keeping feeding people down to it’s simpliest form. I do not like the added stress of needing to run to the store at the last minute – nor do I like to have to stop and think of something I can make with what I have. I stock like a restaurant stocks. I cook whole foods as close to their natural state as possible. And I cook often! My mother comments that anything that you think of making at my house – all the stuff is already there. And that is true.

    I am the opposite of someone in NY city that doesn’t have a big kitchen and stops on the way home from work every night and buys what they need for dinner.

    But I have NO junk – I have the supplies that I need to make the food that we eat – period.

    but I have supplies and back up supplies – fresh fruit, flash frozen fruit, no sugar added canned fruit for example.

    I have (started out dried) cooked beans in the freezer in 1 cup containers in every variety you can think.

    I have cooked squash in 1.2 cup containers in there too.

    I have flash frozen veggies and fresh veggies.

    ETC.

    I have NO raw protein (chicken turkey) in the freezer – only cooked that is ready to go. the exception is fish – because it can be thawed under running water in seconds and tastes better “fresh cooked”.

    I feel that having cooked foods in the freezer and being well stocked IN WHAT FOODS I EAT (and SHOULD be eating) is what keeps me eating healthy. I do not feel that this is a compulsion. We do not eat out much (a special occassion, once a month is a lot of for me). So if one does not eat out and eats healthy – it means cooking!!! Cooking means being supplied.

    There are 4 of us right now – oldest is at college.

  3. AW Sophie is such a cute!! Who can resist that face???

    I love that little cottage – it is rather small though for a family!!

    Well since I have a preteen boy in the house, it seems like I am always running out of food. I’m not very good at keeping things stocked up because I’m just not that organized AND I hate spending money on food. I mean, I’ll buy what we need, but these days, I would rather use that money to actually go out and DO SOMETHING. Food used to be my entertainment, but I’m really trying to steer myself and the kids away from using food as fun.

  4. Are you kidding?! I think about food all the time!!! I guess I’ve shifted my thinking to “good” foods now (I don’t plot how I’m going to eat a box of powdered sugar donuts or a pint of Ben & Jerry’s any longer). But I’m a “think ahead” kind of person–I live in the future way too much, so when I’m eating breakfast I’m thinking about what I’ll pack for lunch. And I just finished my afternoon snack & I’m thinking about when I get to eat next, at dinner, and how yummy my evening protein shake will be.

    Sick in the head? I don’t think so. It’s just the way I’m wired. Whatcha gonna do?

    The ice cream sounds delicious. Did you find that at the grocery or a health food store?

    You had asked how I make protein shakes. Right now, with very little. My morning shake is 12 oz of brewed hot coffee, 5-6 ice cubes, and a serving of whey chocolate protein powder (w/low carbs). The vanilla shake I have is water, ice, & whey vanilla protein powder. Eventually when I get to eat fruit again, I’ll add some frozen berries (and a packet of Splenda, probably. berries can be really tart) to the mix. Those make shakes so much yummier. And they are good for you.

    I also bought a pretty good blender this summer for DH (he makes berry protein shakes all the time), and it has made a world of difference. It was $80 at Target, and the pitcher is all one piece–no bottom to unscrew, no rubber washer to lose or not have in place correctly, no leaking. One of my best kitchen investments ever. DH used to get the bottom screwed on crooked & then we’d have a mess when he’d make a shake (he’d clean it up but somehow he always missed some & left some sticky behind). I think it’s a Kitchenaid.

    Hope you have a good week!

    Oh and the cabin is so adorable! Something out of a story book.

  5. Hey guys, thanks for the comments. You’ve given me something to think about.

    Vickie, I mostly keep stuff like you do. Probably a little more ‘junk food,’ but not much. And you reminded me that one of the reasons that I stock up is to avoid running to the store, which is too far away.

    Laura, thanks for the blender advice. I don’t think I would have thought of the ‘one piece’ thing when shopping unless you had mentioned it.

    Thanks, Jill. I DO just love Sophie. Her exuberance for life is irresistible.

    For all, that cabin is EXTREMELY small. I bet its 20 X 20. Just one room, and upstairs had a room with two beds and the slanting roof–me and my sis would hit our head on the roof almost every morning when we woke up. I think when I was about 10 we moved over to the ‘big cabin’ next door. When we were little, it wasn’t a ‘cottage.’ It was just a summer cabin, plain brown with peeling paint, no plants. But we loved it.

Leave a Reply

