A Good Day

Hi all!  Wanted to let you know a little more about the food ideas I shared yesterday.  First, wanted to mention the shredded carrots in the spaghetti sauce.  I got this idea from my Italian neighbor who told me that that is often a traditional ingredient in spaghetti sauce.  I did it to add a little healthy volume without adding so many calories.  All they did was to add a little oomph and texture.  I didn’t really taste them.

Second, the ‘ice cream sandwiches’ were a bust.  Not worthy, IMO.  I don’t know why I keep trying to make frozen yogurt without an ice cream maker.  It comes out too hard and icy.  And the cookies were okay, but not fantastic.  So I scrapped that dessert, and made a batch of my latest scone recipe, using some frozen blackberries, which are my friend’s favorite.

We had fun today.  We wanted to spend a little time together, and we wanted to see each other’s houses.  But time was getting short, and we live about 40 minutes from each other.  So we decided to do a ‘progressive lunch’ for two!  I drove over to her house, where we visited for a while and ate lunch.  And then got in our cars and drove back to my house, where we visited some more and had tea and scones.  Oh, yeah, side note:  I did find a really great use for that ‘strained yogurt.’  (Which remember is very similar to Fage greek yogurt.)  I added a little splenda, and it was FANTASTIC with the scones–kinda like clotted cream.  Yumm.  That could be addicting.  Anyways, that was a very pleasant way to spend a day with a good friend.

The dogs enjoyed my friend too.  Man, Sophie looks like a devil dog in this picture!

We were done soon enough that I finally made it outside and got a good run/walk for 3 miles, after having done NO exercise for the past two days…I am still sore from the Vicky workout last Friday.  And tomorrow is my regularly scheduled day with Vicky.  I know I should be doing a lot of stretching and that would help with the soreness…Oh yeah, I headed outside AFTER I had done my 50 jumping jacks a la Jill (Jill is posting a mini-challenge every day–very fun to try to keep up with her.)-

Had a delightful dinner–salmon, brussel sprouts with a bit of parmesan, and an asian pear.  The brussel sprouts  were particularly delicious.  I think they were fresher than usual.  Don’t you love the unusual shape of this plate?

And the ornament for the day.  A delicate glass peacock with a real peacock feather for his tail.  This brings back a great memory of a day I took all 4 of my nieces over to San Francisco on BART on Christmas Eve to get them out of the house and give my sister a break for a few hours.  When we got off the BART train, there was a beautiful Christmas shop right in front of us and I got the peacock there.  Gosh, that must have been about 16 years ago, because the girls were very young then.

6 thoughts on “A Good Day

  1. The peacock is lovely. Chrismas ornaments have so many memories wrapped up in them, don’t they?

    And the brussels sprouts have been particularly good here lately, too. I remember last year they were mostly tough and chewy. Must have had a bumper crop this year! LOL

    Finally, has anyone ever told you you look like Laura Bush? Especially in that top photo. Very pretty, my dear 🙂

    • That’s not me, Lynn! That’s my friend. I could only wish to be that tall or that thin! I think I’ll have to take a picture of me in that chair and post them side by side–too funny!

  2. Pingback: The Definitive Yogurt Post « debby weighs in

  3. Pingback: I’m in Love « debby weighs in

Leave a comment