Rainy Days and Mondays…

always make me eat?  Is that the end of that song?  Someone tell me, please.

Well it is Monday.  And it is raining.  And boy howdy did I want  to eat.  But I don’t think it was actually the rain or the Monday.  I think it was a little anxiety over the housecleaning I was doing in prep for my best friend’s visit.  Its not that she doesn’t know what my house is like.  She’s been here plenty of times.  Its mostly just the decision-making that has to be done when I start to clean (as in, where do I put this?  should I keep this or throw it out?  or take it to the thrift store?  if I take it to the thrift store will I regret it next week?  oh, it goes on and on.)

But all ended well, both on the eating front and the cleaning front.  I had identified four areas of clutter that I wanted to work on, and I actually worked on all four areas, plus did a couple of other things.

And here’s what I did about the eating.  I did eat more than I had planned, but all the food was healthy stuff.  It was raining so much I didn’t think I was going to get to take Noah for his second walk.  I almost got out and went to the gym, but instead I made myself pick up my weights and do a quick but intense workout.  This was actually a big victory for me, because ever since I joined the gym, I just haven’t been able to make myself work out much at home.  Here’s what I did:

  • 50 push-ups (girl style)
  • 50 raised leg crunches
  • 50 squats w/24#
  • 3 sets of 10 curls each arm, 12#
  • 50 lunges (25 each leg) 24#

I was all impressed with myself at first because I thought I had 17 pounds on each dumbell.  But by the end I thought, that was a little easier than I expected, and I checked again, and found that there was only 12 pounds on each.  Oh well, still a decent workout.  I was really glad about doing the crunches too, because I have really been slacking in that department.

And then, after I had already fed Noah and eaten dinner myself, I noticed that the rain had let up, so we went for a short soggy walk.  In answer to Juice’s question ‘where is Noah,?’ Noah is outside.  He is just too rambunctious to be in this little house, and he is a MESS.  Evidently he does not mind the rain, because even though he has a room to stay in, he chooses to spend some time outside.  And really, the water never touches his skin.  Its amazing.  I go out there a couple of times a day to ‘dry’ him off with a towel, but his coat is so thick and I guess water-repellant that he is completely dry underneath.  I still have hopes of bringing him in the house when he is a little older and calmer.  But he does get very hot in the house.  We’ll see.  In the meantime, unfortunately, I don’t think Mr. Monk and Sophie offer much in the way of protection for me.  Maybe I need to take a kickboxing class…

7 thoughts on “Rainy Days and Mondays…

    • Oh, I’m glad to hear that someone else has trouble working out at home.

      Yes, I’m really excited. She lives in Oregon now (used to live only an hour away.) so we don’t get to see each other as much. She will be here Monday–only for two days, but we will make the most of it! And she is a foodie and a weight watcher, so we both enjoy AND control. Its a good thing.

    • Ha! I guess I could do them at home on a tree?? I use the machine to do assisted pullups and I am slowly improving on that. I would try more often on the regular bar but it is deep in testosterone country, if you know what I mean…

  1. Yep, rain makes me want to curl up with a book and snacks, too. Thank goodness I had an outing on Sunday and work yesterday.

    And wow-o-wow, look at those weights! I’m impressed! I know what you mean about not working out at home as much anymore. And it’s a darned shame, because it’s not like I’m doing much strength training at the gym, either. Got a chance to change that today; I had a morning at home on my own, so I got to do some workout DVDs, including some nice ab exercises. Hopefully BodyPump won’t kick my posterior too badly tomorrow, given that I haven’t gone in 3 weeks.

  2. Are you in danger of flooding? I saw on the news about all the flooding in Cali and I though of you!

    Rainy days are right up there with snowy days for me as far as being Snacky McSnackerson – it’s a battle I tend to lose.

    I am super impressed with your weights workout!! Good job! 🙂

Leave a comment