Pride and Accountability

Okay, I’ve been thinking about this personal trainer thing all week.  How it seems to be working for me.  And how the accountability of it seems to be a big part of it for me.  Like when I’ve run out of calories at the end of the night, and I want a little more popcorn, and I think, no, I’m gonna see Vickie in a few days.  That’s just one little example.  Another part of the control on what I am eating is that when I am working harder at working out, I will think, I don’t want this work to go to waste, so control your eating.  But mostly, I think that for me, the accountability of a real live person is very important for me.  I’m not sure why the w.w. accountability stopped working for me, but maybe this is one step up–there is no one to hide behind, no crowd to get lost in.

But here’s what I’ve been thinking about this week, especially in regards to the large financial investment I was contemplating (hiring a P.T. for an extended period of time.)  Am I ALWAYS going to need to be accountable to someone?  Is that the only way I will be able to maintain my weight loss forever?  When I started W.W. I thought to myself, well it is like being an alcoholic.  Some alcoholics have to go to A.A. meetings every week for their whole lives to stay sober.  So be it, I thought to myself.  If I have to go to W.W. meetings for the rest of my life to keep on track, it is worth it.

I guess I don’t have any answer for this since I am not there yet.  In questioning Vicky, she didn’t have a pat answer, but she did say something that appealed to me.  She said that some people check in with her once a month or so, or check back in if they have a 5 pound gain.  That appeals to me, and sounds reasonable.

So, Da-da-da-dahhhh! (I don’t know how to spell out that trumpet blast)—I signed up for SIX MONTHS of Personal Training.  That is a bigger investment than the new TV I am refusing to buy!  But I am so excited about the prospects of everything it will do for me.  She works on your nutrition right along with the exercises, which I really like.  And she explains how and why certain exercises affect your muscles in different ways, which is really important to me.  And she definitely challenges me.  That is the part about pride that I was pondering today.  I mean, what makes me try one more pushup when my arms and legs are shaking, when she is right there?  It has to be pride.  I mean, when I was at home, I was pushing myself pretty hard on the pushups, but I don’t remember trying THAT hard.  Whatever it is, I feel well-worked out today!  

Oh yeah, AND I lost 0.6 pounds this week.  To some of you that may not seem like much, but it is two weeks in a row with a loss, and that is a big deal to me!

So I’m off to my healthy dinner of salmon and brussel sprouts, and saved enough calories to have a little piece of the dark chocolate Green & Black’s chocolate that I got to try, along with my strawberries and greek yogurt for dessert!  Have I mentioned lately how much I love food?

8 thoughts on “Pride and Accountability

  1. Rock on girlfriend! Nothing wrong with investing in yourself (besides, TVs turn your brain to mush). Congrats on your loss this week as well. Way to go! 🙂

  2. AMEN to the precook meat! I would add beans to the wonders of the ‘precooked list’ – I found it made a BIG difference in my ‘ease of eating smart’ to precook all meats and to also precook my dried beans – and have them ready in the freezer.

    I think it is very smart for you to be thinking about what happens after the 6 mos is up – because WE tend to be creatures of habit – and we also tend not to take care of ourselves – so I think it would be good to look at this 6 mos as temporary and set yourself up to be able to stand on your own two feet at the end.

    This is something that I really saw in myself with physical therapy – I was VERY dependent on the PT person – and we both had to actively work to wean me (off of my dependency).

    I would guess that your PT Vicky is a need that you have NOW – because you are still learning positioning. And that is how I would look at her – soaking up all that she has to teach you – so that you can do it on your own.

    When I used to verbalize my uncertainty that I would be able to work without my PT – she started pushing me to show her – what I knew and could do (rather than telling me each step).

    Like she would say – that she had a chart to finish – so could I please get started on my warm ups on my own. Or she would sit and watch and say – show me the stomach series you would plan/do for yourself.

    with this method – she was there to help if I couldn’t think – and to correct positioning – but she was teaching me to stand on my own two feet – from the beginning.

    And by the end – I not only could do it on my own – you could have handed me a newbie and I could have taught them/worked them out too.

    So, I would work (now) towards that end – of being able to work without her.

    And for all these reasons – I am very much a CLASS person – it is an economical way to have someone stand there and tell me what to do. And it is good socialization.

    And what I have to work on now – is switching up my classes and my instructors to stay challenged. I have to be careful not to get too dependent on the rountine of MY classes – to add things – try new things – switch instructors.

    I pay a flat fee at one facility ($60 per month) for unlimited classes. This is a yoga studio – I take pilates, free weights, yoga, Zumba classes there. There is no gym equipment.

    I personally do not think that resistance machines are the answer – I do all resistance work with free weights. I feel strongly about not being dependent (mentally) on machines – if I can’t afford a gym or one is not convenient – I can work myself out – hard with AIR if I have to – making my own resistance.

  3. I forgot to say that in addition to the flat fee at the yoga studio – I take one class (that meets twice a week for an hour each time) at another facility. There are 6 sessions per year and I pay about $60 per session. There are a few breaks at this facility – between sessions – and that is when I use my punch card (see next paragraph).

    I also have a punch card at a gym. one punch equals one class – punches work out to $4.50 each ($45 for 10 punch card) – I pick up extra classes there – as needed – classes run at the gym about 360 days a year – the only time there are not classes are new years day, xmas day, thanksgiving day, easter. (And on the days that the classes are cancelled – the GYM itself is still open – I can go there and pay a walk in fee if I choose to.) so I use the gym when my other classes are on a break.

    I also utilize the mall – for free walking in the early morning.

    There are several other facilities that I have used – as a walk in – to try a special class or instructor.

  4. I think it’s great that you are investing in you and your health – that money could NOT be better spent anywhere else!

    I know exactly what you mean about the accountability of a real live person. When I lost weight last summer/fall it was because of the Nurse Nazi – I didn’t want to disappoint her! I’m thinking of going back there again just so I can have that external push that seems to motivate me so much.

    I love reading about your new adventures – it keeps me inspired! 🙂

  5. 0.6 is a great loss!

    I think you are on the right track. Sometimes you just need to change things. I have found over the course of the last few years that I need to do different things periodically to keep focused and not start slacking. The brain (and the body) gets used to things being a certain way, like a rut, and that is when the slippery slope begins.

    Signing up for the PT is a big change and something worth getting excited about!

    And I love food, too LOL!

  6. Congrats! It sounds like a great adventure in fitness you’ve got coming up. I’ve enjoyed reading about it so far, and I look forward to more!

    I know what you mean about pride & accountability. I push much harder in a class, for example, than I do when working out on my own.

  7. Hi Debby,

    I saw this older post on accountability and wanted to reach out. One of your readers (Jill/thesassypear) also mentioned to me that she is an avid reader of your blog. Jill is a member on our site, iChange.com.

    Today, we publicly announced our site, iChange.com. In reality, we have been around for a few months, but trying to do things ‘under the radar’. Our announcement comes on the heels of venture capital funding which now gives us some cash to really turn iChange into something great. If you’re interested, here’s a copy of our press release on forbes.com:

    http://www.forbes.com/feeds/businesswire/2010/02/01/businesswire134788307.html

    As a blogger on the subjects of weight and dieting, your feedback on iChange would be extremely valuable for us. We’re built on the concept of accountability, and help people find both nutritionists and support groups to work with online. Our model from the very beginning has been to offer accountability at a tiny fraction of the price of a personal trainer, so it doesn’t break the bank. Our basic program is free.

    If you are interested in trying it out, I would love to hear what you have to say. You can either just sign up at iChange.com, or if you’d like to create your own support group, maybe with some of your readers, we could set that up as well and have it supervised by a dietitian. We normally charge for participation when a dietitian is involved, but I’d be happy to let you start one for free for your members just so we could get the feedback.

    Let me know if you are interested in starting a group. Even if you are not, I’d be very interested to get your reaction to the site and our idea. Thanks in advance!

Leave a Reply

